OBSIDIAN by Jennifer L. Armentrout

obsidian

Look over there! It’s a vampire! It’s a werewolf! No! It’s an….alien? Huh, that’s new.

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout is one heck of a story. I just saw it on the shelf at my local bookstore and reading the blurb, thought it sounded interesting enough, so I bought it. Boy was that one of the best decisions I’ve ever made!

The main character, Katy Swartz, moves to the next-to-empty town of West Virginia with her mom. After moving into her new house, she quickly notices her hot next door neighbor with the name of Daemon Black. From first impression, Daemon’s a jerk. His twin sister, Dee Black, however, is completely the opposite. She’s a sweetheart from the jump and immediately accepts Katy with welcoming arms. Daemon doesn’t approve of this because the Blacks have a secret. They aren’t really from around here and any human interacting too close with them might begin to notice a thing or two. As a result of her friendship with Dee as well as her susceptibility to danger, Katy discovers their secret pretty quickly. With that piece of knowledge comes plenty of interesting situations, involving some enemies both human and alien. All I’m going to say about Daemon and his family is that they are epic! Cool enough that I find myself wishing I was one of them. Even the Arum, rivals of the Luxen, are cool. Gash, everything is just so awesome!!

Katy Swartz is on my list of top favorite female characters. First of all, her personality is fresh and sassy which is always fun. Secondly, she could literally be my twin. She loves to read, has books all over her house, feels emotions equivalent to mine about fictional characters and she has a book blog. I felt like I was reading myself talking on the pages. I cherish narrators that I can relate to. When I read novels, I often find myself getting quite annoyed with female narrators. I don’t know what it is but there’s always something that I can’t stand. There was nothing irritating about Katy ever.

Daemon Black. This name is like music to my ears (Although, it’d be better if I was sure how to pronounce it). He is the epitome of perfect. Once you read further into the book, the guy starts to grow on you just as Katy starts to grow on him. He is still insufferable, but not to the point where you want punch him in the throat. He has the right amount of douche and the right amount of cuteness to balance it all out. I personally can’t deal with a guy who is all around too sweet, so Daemon is flawless. I kept falling more and more in love with him. Too bad Katy gets to have him. It’s not fair! Why?! In addition, Dee is just as loveable. She’s such a bright ball of sunshine! (literally ;)) I can’t help but smile whenever she comes into the scene. Sensing a pattern? Basically, all of Jennifer L. Armentrout’s characters are perfect to say the least. Heck, I even love Ash! I love the conversations and bantering between Daemon and Katy. It’s a stimulating relationship that they have.

I had a great amount of fun reading this! Late into the night, I proceeded to flip pages because I physically could not put the book down! My hands would not let me! Everything about it was intoxicating. This is like no other fantasy novel I’ve read. It seems so real, as if there could really be aliens walking among us this very moment and we would never know by how natural they all act. Now of course that is not true, but it’s the realism that counts. I finished this book in two days (and that’s only because of school -.-) and after 45 minutes, I was already having Daemon and Katy withdrawal symptoms. Yes. It was that bad. Or should I say that good. It was painful waiting to get my hands on the following book in the series, Onyx, especially since the back of Obsidian gave a sneak peek. (And what a marvelous sneak peek that was!)

This series is plain amazing. I love it, love it, love it and strongly, EMPHATICALLY suggest each and everyone of you who reads this to read Obsidian. With humor, wit, action, hot guys and girls (and aliens) with great personalities and a great plot, you will not be disappointed. 🙂

12 comments on “OBSIDIAN by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. maddieray20 says:

    Obessed with this series.

    Like

  2. […] Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout; although this is kind of cheating because no one actually read it no matter how HARD I pushed… […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

