Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

hp sorcerers stone Title: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

Author: J.K. Rowling

Genre: Fantasy

Form: Hardcover

 Okay so don’t shoot me or anything but this is my first time reading Harry Potter. Unbelievable to some of you out there, I know, but there are actually a lot of people who have never picked up this series. Probably enough to match up with those who have read all 7 books. To add salt to the wound I haven’t seen any of the movies either (lol sorrynotsorry). It has never really interested me to read Harry Potter and I probably could have gone my whole life without reading it but my sister and my friend were behind my back about it. Thus my new journey began. To anyone who is in the same boat as I am, feel free to come on this journey with me! We can be late bloomers together 🙂 If you have not read any of the HP books yet, goodbye for now. I would not want to spoil it for you.

First off, I literally walked into this book blindly. With it being so popular and from all the countless references made on a daily, most people have some sense about the story and its plot. I, however, knew nothing which I was glad about because I prefer to begin books absolutely clueless. The only drawback is that I’ve seen a lot of the actors/actresses so even though I can imagine my own characters, Emma Watson and Alan Rickman keep popping back up. I don’t truly mind though.

I would not say this was an amazing book but it kept me intrigued and it was a well written set up for the rest of the series. At first, J.K. Rowling’s writing kind of had me bored because there was nothing special about it but the quality of the story kept me reading. What I will say is that she has quite the imagination. When I was learning about Quidditch all I was thinking was “Where the heck did she get this from?” Making up a game that is played on broomsticks rather than the ground is one thing but then she went on to add Bludgers and a Snitch…one simply does not create such a sport! And there are centaurs and unicorns! xD I got abnormally excited when I found that out. Also while we’re on the subject of creativity, “muggle” is not even in the dictionary and it’s such a queer word! Add to that all the weird named foods that Rowling came up with like those Every Flavor Beans, and pictures that move. She just has a great imagination.

I am already in love with Harry, Ron and Hermione’s friendship. I can see it developing beautifully. On the topic of Hermione…let me tell you, pronouncing this child’s name was the perpetual trial of my life from start to finish. Her name appearing on the page led to a different pronunciation every time. I was getting so bothered that I had to google it and it is still hard to say. I need practice. Everyone else is okay though. Fred and George Weasley are my favorite. Ron is awesome too.

That plot twist at the end was not expected. Of all people, Professor Quirrel. He put on a good act. I still think Snape is evil.

So I was told that HP gets better and I have faith that it will so I am excited to move on to Chamber of Secrets. If you have read this review as well as some or all of the Harry Potter books, I would be glad to talk to you all about it. 🙂

 

 

6 comments on “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

  1. patricia says:

    That’s a great review! Love your blog and your wruting. Hope we can be friends x

    Like

  2. You,my friend,are starting the journey of a lifetime.Right here and now,I almost envy you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

