Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

hp chamber of secretsTitle: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Author: J.K. Rowling

 Genre: Fantasy

Form: Hardcover

 

Let’s start off saying that Chamber of Secrets was way better than Sorcerer’s Stone. I started reading right after I finished the first one and unlike with SS, I got interested pretty quickly. If you have not read Harry Potter before, I recommend picking it up some day. The storyline is worth delving into and as I said in my SS review, Rowling is immensely creative. So to all my HP virgins reading this, love you, but bye for now!

Okay. The beginning was a bit boring only because of the Dursleys. They don’t bring much excitement into the mix. While I was reading I could not help but notice that the Dursleys treat Harry just how the evil stepmonster treats Cinderella. I mean, they barricaded his room like a prison. I really don’t even see what the problem with him being a wizard is. It is not that big of a deal. Anyways then the Weasleys showed up with their flying car. Very cutting edge. I just continue loving the twins more and more. Can they be my brothers?

DOBBY IS SO ADORABLE! I had to “awe” everytime he spoke. How he speaks in third person and how he calls Harry “sir” and beats himself for doing something wrong just conjures a reflexive aweeee! I don’t care if he looks ugly, he is too cute. No matter the fact that he almost killed Harry trying to save him, it’s the thought that counts. And now he’s a free elf! Yay.

The adventure, if that’s what you want to call it, in this book was more interesting than the first because it was more mysterious. Harry was hearing voices in his head, people (and animals) were turning into stone Medusa style, there was a supposed mad Slytherin heir running around…craziness. Everyone first assumed it was Draco but I knew it wasn’t. He’s a jerk for sure but I can’t see him pulling something like that off. His bark is worse than his bite. His father on the other hand, he’s a madman. His name even sounds evil, Lucius Malfoy. Go on, say it out loud. *shudders* I wonder which name sounds more malevolent. Voldemort, oh oops sorry, He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named, or Lucius Malfoy.

It was crazy how Harry seemed like the prime suspect for the Petrifies (Petrifying?) because everything could be linked back to him. Rowling is just so clever though because at the end everything made so much sense! No wonder he was the only one who could hear the voice and Hagrid’s “follow the spiders” and then the Moaning Myrtle connection! The deduction about the mirror between Hermione and that Ravenclaw girl and every other reflection near the Petrified was perfect! Don’t even get me started on Dumbledore’s saying “As long as someone is loyal to me I will never leave Hogwarts.” When he first said that I just thought he meant he would always be behind Hogwarts as long as he’s needed, you know something simple like that but nooo. His Phoenix is the best bird ever and that Sorting Hat is very resourceful.

It’s funny how Ginny was the one doing all this. I would not have expected her since she has not been much of an important character so far. All in all this book showcased Rowling’s cleverness. It was just so, so clever. Sorry, I can’t say it enough.

By the way I just remembered. I cannot finish this review without talking about this man. Gilderoy Lockhart is the most annoying, conceited character ever! Oh my goodness, he really needed to go. I don’t understand how anyone put up with him for a whole year.

Anyways, Chamber of Secrets was great and I am so excited to start Prisoner of Azkaban. Hmm Harry Potter just might be growing on me. Share your thoughts on this book, the series or J.K. Rowling’s brilliant mind with me. Hope you enjoyed reading my words! 😉 Till next time friends.

6 comments on “Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    I don’t think Lucius is evil… he’s just misunderstood. Lord Voldy isn’t all that evil too, based on how he grew up.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Char says:

      I don’t know anything about how Voldemort grew up. Only that he used to be Tom Riddle. I’m guessing I find out later in the series? And idk but from what I’ve read so far. Lucius is evil lol

      Like

  2. […] Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling […]

    Like

  3. […] Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

