Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

FANGIRL_CoverDec2012Title: Fangirl

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Genre: Contemporary

Edition: Hardcover

Huh. I just realized this is my first review of a contemporary novel. And my first review of the year! Woo hoo for firsts!

Anyhow, I’m pretty sure most of you already know what this book is about. It’s been all over the book-sphere for at least a year now. Fangirl follows the journey of a–you guessed it–fangirl named Cath. She has a twin named Wren and when they get to college for freshman year, Wren basically wants to cut all ties. It’s college, they gotta meet new people, explore different horizons yadda, yadda, yadda. Unfortunately for Cath, she is not the social butterfly that Wren is and she has to deal with being on her own with just the world of Simon Snow to keep her company. In come the roommate to save the day! Reagan takes the unfledged Cath into her wing and with Reagan came Levi, the ex-boyfriend who never leaves.

Literally everyone seems to absolutely adore this book. I understand the attraction because we are all true fangirls at heart. The way Cath was with Simon Snow is like how I am with Percy Jackson and I could totally relate when both Cath and Wren cried at the release of the final book in the series (memories of Blood of Olympus resurface). However, I finished this book with a feeling of ‘eh’. I enjoyed it enough to read all the way through but I don’t think that I am going to read it again. And I don’t mean that in the sense that this was such a glorious book that although I’ve read it only once it will stick with me forever. The novel had a solid plot but most of the times, it felt like nothing was really going on. For me, the most exciting aspect was the fanfiction. Although, the world of Simon Snow just kept reminding me of Harry Potter, the character Basil was too funny. He was my favorite character and he wasn’t even part of the main plot. My other favorite character was the twins’ dad. I love his personality. Wren was insufferable like how can you abandon your own twin? She redeemed herself in the end though. They’re so close and it only made me want a twin more than I already do. Their mother was just horrid. She doesn’t want to be a mother and yet she wants Cath and Wren, her daughters to be in her life… Are they just supposed to act like their her friends? Students? Just some children she wants to help out because they don’t have a mother? Oh wait.

I just don’t understand.

Reagan was cool people, also a very nice person for what she did for Cath. Then, of course, there’s Levi. He was–alright. Sweet, yea, I guess but to be honest, the characters in this book did not have enough depth for me. They didn’t jump off the page with life.

Overall, in my opinion, this book is overrated BUT that does not mean it was not good, so don’t kill me. If it wasn’t interesting, I would have never finished it. Then again, maybe I would have because I hate starting books and then never finishing them. The only reason I would do that is if the book was disturbing and made me really uncomfortable. Back onto the topic though, tell me what you thought about Fangirl. Did you like it? Did you not? Did you even read it? If so, what was your favorite part? Leave your answers below or just comment to say hi!

Have a good day loves! xx

3 comments on “Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

  1. i got halfway through FANGIRL before school got in the way, so i’ll definitely be giving it another shot. have you read ELEANOR AND PARK? i think the way you feel about FANGIRL is the same way i feel about ELEANOR AND PARK – i just didn’t like it as much as everyone else did… i don’t know, i’ll have to try them both again.

    Like

    • Char says:

      I haven’t read eleanor and park yet but I plan to so I could see if it was actually Rainbow’s writing that didn’t do it for me or if it was just Fangirl.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. […] Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I really expected it to be good because it was about a fangirl. I expected to be able to relate to the main character so much but it was kind of a drag. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

