Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes

gathering darknessTitle: Gathering Darkness

Author: Morgan Rhodes

Genre: YA Fantasy

Edition: Hardcover

This is possibly the most gorgeous book cover I’ve ever seen. The best part is that it matches the gorgeous content inside the book so it’s a win-win! As the third installment in the Falling Kingdoms series, Gathering Darkness continues to follow the journeys of Cleo, Jonas, Lucia and Magnus along with the many other characters we were introduced to along the way. From the prologue, I immediately knew that this book was going to be a more magnificent read than the two before it. It was mysterious and completely unprecedented the detail that Morgan spun into the tale of the Kindred and the path to uncovering their whereabouts. Lucia, as we knew, was the key to it all as she became more confident in her magic and sorcerer abilities. To be honest, I still don’t find her as compelling as the rest and her capricious character–turning evil one minute then remorseful and back again–makes her seem so juvenile to me. It’s hinted that her magic is overwhelming her to the point where it changes her character but she’s always like Is my magic good? Is it bad? No. Magic has no preference, it’s the wielder that decides so grow a backbone and pick one.

Jonas is such a comical character. He somehow manages to make everyone think he is a force to be reckoned with, the rebel of rebels when in reality he accomplishes absolutely nothing. Why is he even a main character to be honest? His companionship with Felix, a new favorite of mine, only increased this rather embellished persona. I don’t blame him for suddenly turning against Felix cause I would to if I heard the same news but I hope we see him again in Frozen Tides and maybe learn more about his story. If you ask me, Cleo was the real undertaker of this novel. She was the only one confident in her plans while carrying out such plans with tact. I love seeing her grow into such a strong character and one who can be met with unexpected circumstances and not cower, although she was always a little fiery.

That plot twist was amazing! It was a whole lot of betrayals that turned out not to be betrayals, secret plans going on behind everybody’s back this whole time while no one was the wiser and I did not see any of it coming. Prince Ashur was meant to be a suspicious character but with everything that went down I was left befuddled at who he really was. All the schemes (especially Cleo’s) and deceptions were orchestrated with such finesse, just–yes, Morgan, yes. It’s too bad Prince Ashur met his unfortunate end, though. Speaking of ends, I want to talk about Alexius’s and how his death was the only one, among all the rest, that I felt for. One reason being because he was my second favorite character but also because it was just so emotional. That scene really appealed to my pathos and I want him back–I just–I want him back.

Can we take a moment to acknowledge Magneo. I mean. . .

 “You are the only light I can see anymore. And, whatever the cost, I refuse to let that light be extinguished.” 

This ship is officially sailing. I didn’t even officially ship them until like the end of Rebel Spring when I started to like Cleo more and then I couldn’t wait until something happened between them. The tension just kept building, it’s still building, it’s probably going to build up even more in Frozen Tides because neither Magnus nor Cleo are willingly going to admit the truth out in the open. *smiles deviously and maybe a bit creepily* It’s gonna be great.

So. Gold star for Gathering Darkness. Let me know what your thoughts were. I’m in pure anticipation for Frozen Tides. That Fire Kindred is something special; I can’t wait to see what surprises the other stones have to offer. x

3 comments on “Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes

  1. I liked reading your review — it was really thorough.

    Like

Leave a Reply

