Disney Book Tag!

I was browsing through my reader and found this tag on lifeofafemalebibliophile‘s blog (she has an entire segment called Book Tag Thursdays so check her out for more great tags!) Naturally, I thought “Disney and Books?! Two of my favorite things combined? HOW COULD I NOT?”

Hence, here we are.

1. The Little Mermaid–A character that is out of their element, a fish out of water. 
little mermaid gifson of neptune
Percy Jackson was definitely out of his element when Hera basically threw him into Camp Jupiter. He became the son of Neptune instead of Poseidon and he wasn’t any the wiser about the misconception. Without any of his memories and forced to assimilate to the Roman lifestyle for a while, Percy was for sure a fish out of water. All puns intended. 😉

2. Cinderella–A character that goes through a major transition.

cinderella gifshatter me series

This was a no brainer. Juliette Ferrars in the Shatter Me series went through the greatest transition ever as mimicked by the beautiful collective covers of all three books in the trilogy. In Shatter Me, Juliette was a timid, insecure, self-pitying girl; in Unravel Me, she discovered some people that could have helped her but she refused to let them for the most part of the book (the eye in the cover is frozen because she in an immovable state not allowing herself to grow). Then BAM Ignite Me arrives and she’s so confident and ready to embrace her full potential! I enjoyed her journey and loved her development!

3. Snow White–A book with an eclectic cast of characters.

snow white gi the great gatsby

One of my all time favorites. The characters in The Great Gatsby are all unique in their own ways (which wasn’t always a good thing in terms of the plot). They all had their own backstories either entangling with or separate from Gatsby’s life and it was intriguing seeing everything from Nick’s POV as he was the narrator of it all. R.I.P Jay Gatsby 😥

4. Sleeping Beauty–A book that put you to sleep.

sleeping beauty
looking for alaska

Looking for Alaska was so boring I didn’t even finish it.

5. The Lion King–A character that had something traumatic happen to them in their childhood.

sad simbakite-runner

The Kite Runner is such an emotional novel. The main character, Amir, was always trying to prove himself to his father ever since he was a child. So much so to the point where he witnessed something horrible happen to his best friend (practically his brother) and neglected to take action because his father’s pride in him depended on it. That one instance in Amir’s childhood shaped his character and affected his relationships with others thereafter.

6. Beauty and The Beast–A beast of a book (a big book) that you were intimidated by, but found the story to be beautiful.

beauty and the beastcols

So I actually have not read any humongous books in life (not yet anyway, I plan on reading Game of Thrones very soon) therefore for this fairytale I will use the biggest book I’ve read so far and that is City of Lost Souls. I wouldn’t say it was the best book in the TMI series but I enjoyed the character Sebastian a lot. He was a creep but for some reason I digged it. Plus, there’s the whole Jace being on fire thing. xD

7. Aladdin–A character that gets their wish granted, for better or for worse.

genieAnna-And-the-French-Kiss-197x300

Most adorable book ever. Etienne St. Clair took Anna to Point Zero where people go to make wishes and each time he went, he wished for her. Cuuuteeeee?? In the end, he got his wish and in this case it was definitely for the better. ❤

8. Mulan–A character who pretends to be something or someone they are not.

mulan reflectionred_queen_book_cover_a_p

Mare Barrow is an enigma. A girl with red blood who has powers? “But only the Silver bloods have powers!” Well, my friends, that is not entirely the case. However, since all chaos would surely break loose if the public knew about this abnormality (A Red with powers? Oh the blasphemy!), the King and Queen whip up a plan to explain the situation in more respectable terms. Thus, Mare becomes a loss princess, who is in fact Silver, and has now returned to her beloved home in the palace. Anyone with a brain knew it was complete malarkey but she managed to keep up the act for some time despite feeling like a complete poser.

9. Toy Story–A book with characters you wish would come to life.

toy storyorigin

The Lux series is one of my favorites by far and part of the reason is because the characters are so awesome! Katy is literally me in fictional form. Loves books. Thinks book boyfriends are better than real ones. And has a book blog. Plus she’s sarcastic and witty making it concrete that if she were real, we would be best friends. Then there’s Daemon, *swoon*, someone whom I definitely would not mind seeing everyday. Dee, Dawson, Archer, Luc, Paris (😫), Andrew (😫) and everyone needs to materialize into this world like…right now.

10. Disney Descendants–Your favorite villain or morally ambiguous character.

disney descendantshunger games trilogy

President Snow is such a great antagonist. He’s just so cold and calculated. He knows just how to get under people’s skin and I love how his intimidating aura literally leaks off the pages. Oh, Snow and his white roses.

Okay! This took me way too long to finish but I’m finally done with this tag! It was fun and if anyone wants to take a swing at it then go ahead, I tag ALL OF YOU WHO READ THIS! 

I’m tired. Peace, love and Disney. xx

6 comments on “Disney Book Tag!

  1. Thanks for the mention! Great answers! I have a lot of these books on my TBR list. I agree with linking up “The Lion KIng” with The Kite Runner, it’s such an emotional book.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rfreed says:

    Glad I’m not the only one who felt that way about Looking for Alaska. Trouble is, a good friend recommended it to me, and I’m in that awkward situation of not being able to tell her what I think of one of her favorite books.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was thinking of doing this one haha!
    I also nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award so when you have some free time, check it out: https://amandasbooknook.wordpress.com/2015/06/29/the-blogger-recognition-award/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. […] Disney Book Tag! Maybe. It was pretty fun to do and I love disney. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

