MAGNUS DAMORA DEFENSE SQUAD

Ok. I’ve been seeing a lot of hate lately targeted towards Magnus Damora of the Falling Kingdoms series and it’s been making me mad.

In my reviews of the first few books in this series, I have noted the mediocre writing style, the tendency of characters to be superficial and the mostly predictable plot. Those criteria are usually turn-offs for most people however I ALSO recommended that others read these books because one character, Prince Magnus Lukas Damora of Limeros, makes the suffering worth it. Clearly, he is my favorite character and I love him. However, other people in the book-sphere have been complaining, saying how Magnus is so misogynistic and how they don’t understand how anyone can love him so much. At first, I just saw one person with this opinion but now I keep seeing the same complaints over and over that I feel the need to say something. While I know everyone is entitled to their own opinion, I just feel like I need to start my own Magnus Damora Defense Squad because, in my opinion, he is being completely misunderstood.

First of all. . .

Falling Kingdoms is a series based in the medieval era. An era where kingdoms and provinces were ruled by kings and queens. An era where certain social constructs were set in place such as the discrepancy between the societal perception of men and women. Kings literally ruled over their queens for the most part. Whatever they told their wives to do, they had to obey because at that time it was believed that the value of a woman did not amount to that of a man. Clearly, this deluded stipulation is preposterous and you by all means should feel disgusted about the way men used to treat women. However, that was the norm in the medieval era and as this series is based in that era, Morgan Rhodes does a fantastic job at portraying the realistic factors. Magnus is not only a man in the medieval era but he is also a PRINCE who is practically trained to order people around and expect them to follow his every word.

Now this isn’t historical fiction and Morgan Rhodes could have given the characters whatever ideals she wanted but she chose to stay true to the time period and that is okay.

Second of all. . .

My first point would be complete malarkey without this second point so they have to be taken into consideration side by side. You cannot just be a superficial reader and write Magnus off by the things that he says without looking at the character as a whole. This is really the main point I’m trying to make. Look at Magnus’s parents. Look at how he was brought up. Where was he really supposed to learn about respect and equality? Definitely not his cold-blooded father with no regard for human life save his own and certainly not from his mother who was the epitome of passive-aggressiveness. As you can see, there weren’t many positive influences around Magnus during his upbringing so can you really blame him for not knowing how to treat other people, especially women? People learn from their surroundings and all Magnus has ever been surrounded with is heartlessness and detachment. Therefore, how can you honestly hate someone for their character when it’s not entirely their fault they are the way they are? I certainly can’t hate him. In fact, I feel sympathy for him and appreciation at the fact that even with all the negative pressures, he is still trying not to become his father and trying to be less of a soul-less wanker.

I don’t love Magnus because he’s noble. He makes bad choices all the time. I love him for his dimensional quality and I just want to wrap him in a warm blanket and protect him from the world hasn’t been too kind to him. So stop hating on my precious snowflake!

Peace and love xx

Leave a Reply

