The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson

the heart of betrayal

Title: The Heart of Betrayal

Author: Mary E. Pearson

Genre: YA Fantasy

Edition: E-book

The title of this novel holds true because my heart was indeed betrayed.

This is the second installment of The Remnant Chronicles written by Mary E. Pearson so if you haven’t read the first one, The Kiss of Deception, you shouldn’t be here. Then again, if you couldn’t care less then read on. If you have read the first book in the trilogy then you may continue as well for I will try to keep this review void of spoilers. (Key word: try.)

I have no idea why it’s been so difficult for me to write this review but for some reason, I can’t seem to collect my thoughts on this book. I had such high hopes for the second installment of the remnant chronicles. Such high hopes. The way that The Kiss of Deception ended was so climactic, I was really excited to read about the infamous Venda and see what dragon business the Grendel was referring to. In addition to that, I was anticipating discovering more dimensions to Kaden’s character and with that, an actual love triangle that is worth seeing played out.

Alas, I was disappointed. There are basically only two factors that I can truly appreciate and those are Venda and The Komizar. Venda was rather inventive. They had a lot of strange customs and I liked how their “barbaric” ways were continuously twisted around to be not as cruel or disdainful as Lia (and readers) once thought. The Komizar was also a nice addition to the set of characters we already have. He was calculating, cold, and at times very very creepy which makes for a really good antagonist. There’s definitely a layer to him beyond the harsh exterior that was briefly brought to light and I was hoping it would have been further explained either in this book or the next but the ending left no room for that development.

As for the prophecy or what have you–referring to the one named Jezelia who will defeat the dragon–I was pretty sure the dragon was The Komizar. However, the altercation between him and Lia seemed too quick, too soon and a tad bit unresolved. It certainly didn’t improve the situation in Venda or the relations between kingdoms so I’m not too convinced about my former interpretation. I would be lying if I didn’t say I was hoping for an actual dragon. Especially when Lia was crawling through the catacombs and hearing questionable sounds. There’s still an entire book left though so like…anything can happen.

I was just expecting at least a little bit more clarity about it. Throughout the book, it was revealed here or there that some of the Vendans knew and remembered the Song of Venda hinting at a possible hushed rebellion brewing in the towns but for the most part this whole prophecy was on the sidelines only to present itself when Lia randomly saw Venda everywhere (what’s up with that?) or when she was telling the townspeople stories. By the way, I love how she gradually gained control over the Vendans to the point where literally hundreds of people would wait outside her window and yet The Komizar was completely oblivious. Like…the award for Most Perceptive definitely does not go to you.

The ending was incredibly confusing for me. I don’t know if that’s because I read it too quickly or what but to this day I’m still not sure where Rafe and Lia are or what happened to Rafe’s friends. Hopefully, The Beauty of Darkness clears up a lot of this confusion but until then, I’ll just sit here in my confusion and be confused.

I apologize for this horrible review. I blame it on the book. Just kidding. Mary E. Pearson please don’t see this.

Later, loves xx

One comment on “The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson

Leave a Reply

