Top Ten Books I’m Thankful For

It’s definitely Wednesday right now…Oh well.

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and this week is a Thanksgiving Freebie. I decided to share the books that I am most thankful for either because they significantly impacted my reading experience or because they offered something special.

  1. Hatchet by Gary Paulsen

hatchet.jpeg

…for being my first favorite book and giving me an adventurous reading experience. Brian is the person you want when you are stranded on an island.

2. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

uglies.jpeg

…for getting me into dystopian fiction.

3. Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

pjo.jpg

…for making me really excited about reading. I believe that Percy Jackson fostered my passion for reading and was the reason that I became so enamored with novels.

4. Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

catcher in the rye.jpg

…for portraying an unconventional character that I could actually relate to in a lot of ways.

5. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

allthelightwecannotsee.jpeg

…for showing me another perspective of World War 2 that I never see in any of the other WW2 books that I have read. Also, for being brilliant in every sense of the word.

6. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

AEITA.jpeg

…for having a POC main character and for creating a world kind of like Ancient Rome which I love.

7. Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

obsidian

…for Daemon Black. For giving me unrealistic expectations for love. For Katy Swartz who is the most relatable character ever for me. And for being the perfect mix of romance and action.

8. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

shatter me series

…for such beautiful writing and character development. And for Warner.

9. The Iliad/The Odyssey by Homer

iliad and odyssey.jpg

…for providing me with a glimpse of those ancient Greeks whom I love so much. Such literature is a way for me to understand the kind of stories that they liked and told as well as what kind of lives they led. To me, they are primary sources just as valuable as archaeological remains.

10. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

the great gatsby

…for being absolutely lovely and leaving me “simultaneously enchanted and repelled by the inexhaustible variety of life”.

 

One comment on “Top Ten Books I’m Thankful For

  1. […] break from recapping my Europe trip to get in on the spirit of the modern Thanksgiving. I was inspired by another blog to do a post about the books that I’m thankful for this year. But before I go into those,  I […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

