Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Six-of-Crows.jpg
Title: Six of Crows

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Genre: YA Fantasy

Edition: Hardcover

No Mourners. No Funerals.

That’s how inhabitants of the Barrel say ‘Good Luck’. It’s a fitting exchange of words that acknowledges the fact that the odds are probably against them but they’ll be damned if they don’t pull through.

Even if the odds are impeccably stacked on the unfavorable  side, Kaz Brekker, bastard of the Barrel and right-hand man of the Dregs, one of the gangs that rule over Ketterdam, will find a way out. Kaz, known as Dirtyhands because there isn’t anything he won’t do for the right price, is like an untouchable force of nature whom no one dare cross for fear of being killed in the most imaginative way possible. He kills without a second thought and shows no pity, empathy and or mercy. He is, in short, a monster (and only seventeen!).

Yet I love him. If a writer can make me love such a monster, he/she is extremely talented (or there’s something seriously wrong with me). Kaz is such a complex, convoluted, perplexing, and charming character. I can’t even begin to explain the depth within this one persona. There are just no words.

Right away, Kaz is enlisted by a mercher to complete an impossible heist that involves infiltrating a most guarded and secure prison, the Ice Court. Of course, Kaz agrees for a persuasive amount of money that would able him to finally achieve the one thing he’s been after all these years. To succeed this task, he assembles a crew of enticingly peculiar people, each with a different skill-set. There’s a sharpshooter, a nimble spy with acrobatic skills, a Grisha (someone with powers), a former-witchhunter, or drüskelle, and a rich-boy turned criminal who has “hidden depths”. Some of these characters are also POC–score for you Bardugo. I’m not going to tell you who they are exactly because it’s much more fun if you figure it out on your own. I will say, however, that all these characters are just as flushed out as Kaz and have compelling stories that led them to their current position as members of the Dregs. You gotta love them, even Matthias, who was hard to swallow at first. I thoroughly enjoyed learning about each of their pasts that were revealed piece by piece throughout the novel. It was like scavenger hunting, reading through and waiting to see if this was the chapter where you’d discover the secret behind so and so. For example, Kaz wears gloves all the time and no one knows why but at one point in the story, I put the puzzle pieces together and had such a rewarding epiphany. Same with Jesper, there were way too many revelations about Jesper in one chapter alone. I finished the chapter like “Who is this guy? Everything I thought about you was a lie!” 

Now maybe many of you have read Leigh’s debut novels, the Grisha trilogy and are familiar with this world that she has created but I haven’t so I went in with a significant lack of knowledge. In the booksphere, people have been saying that one need not read the Grisha trilogy to understand this novel but I still found myself very confused for the first few chapters. Not only were the terms confusing but it was also difficult for me to understand the politics of this world. To this point, I’m still not sure I truly understand the concepts or just became more familiar with them. *shrugs* Either way, Leigh has definitely created an extraordinary world. I commend her also for creating such an elaborate facility such as the Ice Court. I imagine it to be so beautiful.

Each character obviously has their own love interest. Some of them were expected, some were not. And none of the relationships–and relationships to be–are simple. They all have a significantly sized barrier that is both heartbreaking and slightly amusing. By no means does this story revolve around these romances but the inclusion of them certainly adds to the riveting plot.

I honestly could talk about this book all day but this review is becoming a bit lengthy so I’m gonna cut it off here. I believe I have given you sufficient reason to go out to your local bookstore and purchase this book. If you need any more convincing, take a IMG_20151213_111534.jpglook at this—>

BLACK PAGES! IT HAS BLACK PAGES! I mean, have you ever seen something more beautiful? When I got this book, I literally just sat there marveling at the exquisite exterior before I even embarked on the journey of reading it. It is seriously that gorgeous. Looks, an awesome plot, beautiful characters, what more could you need?

I can’t contain my excitement for the sequel. I’m bursting at the seams. If you’ve read this whole post until the end, I commend you for your determination and thank you for your loyalty. If any of you in the booksphere have read Six of Crows and loved it as much as I did, please comment so we can rave about it together. Even if you didn’t like this book so much, comment and tell me why so I can convince you of your inaccuracies.

Just kidding.

Maybe.

See you on the flip side xx

4 comments on “Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

  1. I understand what you mean about Kaz being a monster, but loving him anyway. I’m so glad Bardugo chose to portray him in this manor as opposed to just saying he was a ruthless criminal and then never following through. I have issues with character believably in those situations.

    LOL, I had a similar reaction to seeing this book for the first time. 🙂

    Like

    • Charlene says:

      Yea I’m a sucker for character backstories. For me, a character evokes more compassion from me if I understand why they are the way they are. They seem more well-rounded with that aspect. I’m so glad I’m not the only one who feels that way about Kaz lol. After he ripped Oomen’s eye out, I was considering my sanity because I still loved him haha

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

