Holiday Reads #2

let it snow.jpgTitle: Let It Snow

Author: Maureen Johnson, John Green, Lauren Myracle

Genre: YA Contemporary

Edition: Paperback

Even if the weather outside was frightful and the fire was so delightful, I would refuse to read this book.

I’m actually surprised by how many people like this book. If it wasn’t for John Green, I would have abandoned it after the first page. He saw it dangling over a pot of boiling oil and decided to be the knight in shining armor. The first story was called The Jubilee Express by Maureen Johnson. I was immediately annoyed with the writing style. It was very “My name is ___. This is where I live. These are my parents.” I really don’t like books where it seems like the main character is writing an autobiography of their lives. I want it to feel like I am living his/her life. Jubilee was also annoying as a narrator. She was trying too hard to be funny and instead of laughing at her jokes, I couldn’t help but roll my eyes. I was more focused on finishing the story than reading it until Jubilee met Stuart. Both his character, who is incredibly kind, and the plot from then on out renewed my interest in the story. Plus, he works at Target! (#StuartfromTarget anybody?) I think my tolerance gradually grew because Jubilee wasn’t as annoying towards the end. Maureen’s story definitely felt Christmassy though which was nice and Stuart’s family was so warm.

John Green’s story called A Cheertastic Christmas Miracle was amazing but you probably expected that. His story was less Christmassy but the characters were significantly better. They were witty, smart (obviously) and realistic. Tobin and Angie were cute. Their interactions were adorable and I found myself actually anticipating the moment when they finally expressed their feelings for each other. I enjoyed reading all 90 pages of this story which seemed to redeem the whole book and gave it promise…then I got to Lauren Myracle’s story.

Reading Lauren Myracle’s story, The Patron Saint of Pigs was like suffering through an hour listening to annoying, bratty, tween girls. Tween girls are her usual audience however so I can’t necessarily fault her for that but still… It held the archetype of a Christmas story where everything is dramatized but it lacked feeling so instead of leaving me with the idea of “Christmas magic”, it just left me unsatisfied. Even though I understood the moral that Myracle was trying to convey, I didn’t feel any sentiment. The main character, Addie, was once again so very annoying and her friends and associates were too superficial and not original enough to form any mark in my memory. The only thing I liked was when all the characters came together. These stories occur during the same time period in the same universe so the characters are all connected in some way and it was nice seeing them all together. My favorite couple was, with no competition, Tobin and Angie.

I was really excited to continue my holiday reading spree after reading Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares but sadly this one was a disappointment. (Except for you, John Green.) If you are looking for a book with cute romances and festivities to put you in the Christmas mood, I wouldn’t really recommend this. Then again, you might find them interesting cause apparently a lot of other people did.

Happy Christmas Eve Eve! xx

4 comments on “Holiday Reads #2

  1. lulusrantsandreads says:

    I actually just finished this yesterday, ha! I liked them all except the last one was a bit annoying. I did enjoy how it all tied together though, I need to find another book or two like that to read. Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

