Holiday Reads #3

Title: My True Love Gave to Memy true love.jpg

Author(s): A bazillion—>

Genre: YA Contemporary

Edition: Hardcover

I LOVED THIS! 

Seriously if you want a holiday book that is warm, fuzzy and festive then look no further. (I mean, you can keep looking, don’t let me stop you but really put this on the list.)

All these stories with the exception of a couple were so appealing to my feels. Rainbow’s story, Midnights, is the first and I couldn’t believe that she made me feel so much in only twenty two pages. I was seriously ready to read an entire novel based off of Noel’s and Mags’s story. Reluctantly I went on to read the next story by Kelly Link called The Lady and the Fox.

And wow–how captivating and unique it was! When I started reading, all I could say was “what?” There were these children under the Christmas tree, a weird family of Honeywells and a strange man staring through the window with a caged fox on his jacket sleeve. I’m not sure when the moment of utter confusion turned into pure enchantment but pretty soon I wasn’t even aware of my fingers turning the pages. Kelly Link’s writing reminds me of a Victorian author’s style. It’s really cool to see a modern writer using such a style and have it work. She has written a weird almost fantasy-like story but a good kind of weird. I really wish that one was a novel as well.

Every story I moved onto was great and I was just marveling at the talent compacted into this one book. AND THE DIVERSITY. All types of people were in here and they weren’t incorporated in a tacky and still kind of stereotypical way but in a thoughtful, not afraid to address race and differences way. I LOVED Gayle Forman’s story. She confronted white and black stereotypes in a cute Christmas story. It wasn’t heavy or anything, it was just real. Gah, I loved it.

I didn’t read Holly Black’s story because her interests do not exactly coincide with mine. Laini Taylor’s story was so out of place. I didn’t feel an ounce of Christmas and it was not that interesting. Those were the only two I had a problem with. Everything else was so full of the holiday spirit! The relationships were so cute! The characters were so authentic and unique! I’m in love with this book and I might just read it every Christmas. I might just look up more stories written by these authors as well. Who knows? Maybe I’ll finally pick up Eleanor and Park.

Hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and continue to enjoy the holiday season!

Peace, love and holly. xx

 

3 comments on “Holiday Reads #3

  1. I’m so going to buy myself a copy of this book to read next year before Christmas and get myself totally into the holiday spirit. Wait…you didn’t try reading the Holly Black story?

    Like

  2. I totally get it, and that was pretty weird about Laini Taylor’s story not fitting in with the rest. Children under the Christmas tree sounds really intriguing, and Gayle Foreman and Rainbow Rowell are such good writers–I’m curious to read their stories, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

